Students Receive Accolades for Award Winning C-SPAN Video
Posted On:
Thursday, June 01, 2017
Liz Goncalves ,Kendyl Vermette, Brady Vermette, with Representative Petrolati and Senator Lesser
Liz Goncalves ,Kendyl Vermette, Brady Vermette, with Representative Petrolati and Senator Lesser

This afternoon Terence Bilal and Joel Bacon from C-SPAN visited Baird Middle School to deliver awards to 8th grade students Brady Vermette, Liz Goncalves and Kendyl Vermette for achieving Honorable Mention in this year's C-SPAN StudentCam competition. Together, they produced a documentary entitled The Opioid Drug Epidemic, Our Nation in Crisis.  You can view their award winning video by clicking here and learn more about their project by clicking here.

In attendance to congratulate these students on this national achievement were their very proud families, Massachusetts State Senator Eric Lesser, State Representative Thomas Petrolati,  Anna Lucey and Heidi Vandenbrouck from Spectrum/Charter Communications, LPS Superintendent, Dr. Todd Gazda, LPS Curriculum Director, Dr. Erica Faginski-Stark, BMS Principal, Stacy Monette, BMS Assistant Principal, Mary Dobek along with their teachers and loudest cheerleaders, Mrs. Michelle D’Amore, Mrs. Laura O’Keefe, Mrs. Diane Ogorzalek, Mrs. Beth Jarzabek, Jordan Funke, and classmates, who also participated in this contest.

After viewing the award winning video Senator Lesser congratulated all involved telling the audience, “I will be bringing the video back to proudly share with my colleagues in the State House. It sends a powerful message about the opioid crisis and supports all of the efforts we are making to help combat this disease.”

“These three young people put together a film that helps us all better understand the opioid issues that are plaguing the Commonwealth,” said Representative Petrolati. “I commend these students for making this very powerful and informative video to educate others.”

In addition to receiving their Honorable Mention Award from C-CSPAN, each student also received citations from the Massachusetts State House, Massachusetts House of Representatives, Massachusetts Governor Charlie Baker and U.S.  Senator Elizabeth Warren.

“This is the third year students from Baird Middle School have been recognized in C-SPAN’s national competition,” commented Superintendent Gazda.  “Projects such as these engage students in the learning process through an exploration of topics that capture their attention and imagination. This work helps students build essential skills that they will carry with them through their school career and beyond.”


The three award recipients with thier families, Senator Lesser, Representative Petrolati and Joel Bacon (C-SPAN).

 BACK ROW- Senator Lesser, Jordan Funke, Stacy Monette, Michelle D'Amore, Laura O'Keefe, Representative Petrolati, Anna Lucey, Joel Bacon, Dr. Gazda, Diane Ogorzalek, Beth Jarzabek 

FRONT ROW- Brady Vermette, Liz Goncalves and Kendyl Vermette

View all Highlights